That being said, the Nintendo Switch may not be for everyone. Or you may be trying to stop gaming altogether. Regardless of the reason, it’s possible to delete your Nintendo account.
Here, we will be discussing how you can delete your Nintendo account. Now, let’s get into it!
Warnings Before Deleting Your Nintendo Account
Before you permanently delete your account, you should be aware of the precautions associated with deleting your Nintendo account. These include:
- When you opt for Nintendo account deletion, you will lose all data associated with it as a result. These will include:
- Any digital content you’ve downloaded and purchased, including in-app content and coins.
- Any save data of apps that are linked to your Nintendo Account.
- Mission status, rewards, and points in your Nintendo rewards program.
- Nintendo Account discounts.
- Any linked Nintendo Network ID or any third-party accounts will not be deleted if you delete your Nintendo account.
- You can reactivate your account for four weeks/30-days after it has been deleted. After this time period has passed, the account will be permanently deleted and cannot be reinstated.
- When you delete the main Nintendo account, all Nintendo accounts for children maintained through a parent’s or guardian’s Nintendo account will be deleted as well.
- Accounts for users aged 16 and up in the family group will not be removed if a family group admin deletes their Nintendo Account. They won’t be connected to a family group anymore but can be added again once there is a new family group.
If you’re deleting your account to create a new one with a different email address or if you want to alter your nickname or other information, try updating your Nintendo Account instead of permanently deleting the whole Nintendo Account.
Now that you’re aware of what will happen once you delete your Nintendo account and still want to continue, follow the steps below in order to delete your account.
Deleting Your Nintendo Account
Photo Credits to Nintendo
There are two types of Nintendo accounts. The first one is your standard account, and the second one is a child’s account. We’re going to walk you through the process of deleting a Standard Nintendo Account and a Child’s Nintendo Account.
Standard Nintendo Account
To delete a standard account, follow the step-by-step guide below:
- First, go to accounts.nintendo.com and sign in to your Nintendo account.
- Click on your account’s icon located at the top right corner of the page and click on “Settings.”
- Select “Other Settings” on the left-hand side of the page.
- Next, click on the “Delete Account” link located at the bottom of the page.
- Once you click on the “Delete Account” link, you’ll get a prompt where you’ll be able to read about what will happen once you delete a Nintendo Account.
- After reading the prompt, click on “Confirm and Proceed” to complete the deletion of your Nintendo Account. To successfully delete the account, you’ll have to re-enter your password to confirm the action.
After confirming the account deletion of your account, you’ll have a four-week/30-day grace period to reactivate your account before it is permanently deleted.
Child’s Nintendo Account
The only way to delete a child’s Nintendo account is through the Parent’s/Guardian’s account in a Family Group. Follow the instructions below to delete a child account:
- First, go to accounts.nintendo.com and sign in to the Parent/Guardian Nintendo account.
- Click on “Settings” and from the left-hand side of the screen, click on “Family Group.”
- Select the child’s account you want to delete and click “Other Settings.”
- From there, you can click “Delete Child Account.”
- You’ll get a prompt regarding the account deletion.
- Once you’ve read through the prompt, click “Deactivate and Delete.”
- Now, click “Confirm Account Deletion” to confirm the action.
Just like with a standard account, you have a four-week/30-day grace period to reactivate the account.
Frequently Asked Questions
How to Reactivate a Deleted Account?
To reactivate a standard account, log in to your deleted account from the Nintendo Account website and click “Reactivate” to restore your account. But take note that reactivating your account does not guarantee that all the data will be recovered.
To reactivate a child’s account, go to the “Child’s accounts” section from the standard account, select the deleted account, and click “Reactivate.” Like with the standard account, data restoration is not guaranteed.
Deleting a Nintendo account is pretty simple. But you should be aware that this action is permanent after the 30-day grace period has passed.
Before you do anything to your account, make sure that you’re 100% sure, as lost data can not be recovered.
We hope this article helped you delete your account. If you want to check out more guides for your Nintendo Switch, check out Techzumo.com.
- How to Redeem Nintendo eShop Card [Gift Card and Code]
- How to Reset Nintendo Switch Lite?
- How to Stream Nintendo Switch to Discord?
- How to Unlink Nintendo Account from Switch?